Paralyzed by perfection

It must be the way I am wired that I don’t “publish” anything until I wordsmith and think it to death.  I was really challenged by Daniel’s post as I felt Daniel had been reading my mail.  While most of my copy doesn’t end up in a blog (still working on the habit), much of it ends up in advertisements for our company Utley Brothers in print and online. 

I agree with Daniel that “perfection is a myth” and that we should “strive for excellence but don’t let perfectionism be an excuse…because, let’s face it, it can be and often is.” The fear of failure or embarrassment wins and nothing gets “shipped” as Seth Godin is fond of saying.

While Daniel’s post was about blogging it applies to all areas of the work each of us do.  But the main point to me is that I need to just do it (sorry I don’t even own a pair of Nike’s). 

I began looking for a cool graphic to go along with this post and when I couldn’t find something I was about to hit “save draft” and get back to it later after I found something appropriate but as a therapeutic exercise I am publishing this as is. Ok, I’ll hit spell check but after that I’m hitting “publish”.

See you more often.

About marathondrew

I am a runner (still trying to to qualify for the Boston Marathon) and I work at Utley Brothers Printing, my family's 3rd generation printing company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

