Appreciation

Utley Brothers is blessed with a great group of folks that make up our team.  This past Thanksgiving we sent a unique Thanksgiving card to our customers. I really liked what our designer, Casey, did with card this year.  I loved the simplicity and randomness of the chip board.  It was a pleasure to mail them off – I hope it was a pleasure to receive one.

Then I got caught up in the Thanksgiving season and personalized a card for each of the nearly 40 folks on our team.  I put a personal note on each one and hand delivered them the day before we left for the Thanksgiving Holiday.  I don’t say this to point out what a great person I am, but to say how delighted most of the recipients of the personalized cards were to receive them.  We of course show our appreciation for work completed by providing a check every other week.  But a few words of appreciation seemed an appropriate gesture to a fabulous group of people who we spend a lot of time with each day and who do a great job.

In a day and age when an email can be typed and delivered to an entire army of people in seconds…it is nice to change things up and do something not convenient or efficient to show people you care about how much they are appreciated.

How about you…how do you show appreciation to those on your team?

About marathondrew

I am a runner (still trying to to qualify for the Boston Marathon) and I work at Utley Brothers Printing, my family's 3rd generation printing company.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

